Earning the Badge...

Benefits and Incentives

  • $10,000 sign on bonus for those already certified as Law Enforcement Officers in WV
    • (Law Enforcement certification from other states requires a review of training and certification documents to determine eligibility for bonus) 
  • College degree incentive 
    • $0.15/hr - Associate's Degree
    • $0.30/hr - Bachelor's Degree
    • $0.45/hr - Master's Degree
  • 2 weeks paid vacation 
  • Health, Dental, and Vision Insurance options for employee and family
  • Pension plan - State of West Virginia PERS 
  • Paid Sick Leave 
  • Holiday Leave Accrual 
  • Annual Safe Driving Day 
  • $10,000 Life Insurance Policy provided by employer  
  • Variety of volunteer overtime opportunities 
  • Fleet Program - Take home cruiser (20 mile radius of Police Headquarters) 
  • Paid WV Law Enforcement Certification training


  • Must be between 18-40 years old at time of application
  • Must be a U.S. citizen 
  • Must possess a valid driver’s license 
  • Must be High School Graduate, GED, or equivalent certificate  


  • Parkersburg Police Department Application (click to download and print the application) 
    • Application – must be turned in prior to taking the written test
    • Follow all instructions on the application and attach the required documents such as DD-214, if applicable


  • Written Test (Must pass the Written Test to continue)
    •  Minimum score of 70% required to pass
    • 5 bonus points awarded to Veterans in accordance with West Virginia Code 6-13-1
    • Score achieved on this test will determine order of hiring when all screening is complete
  • Physical Agility Test (Must pass the Physical Agility Test to continue)
  • To take the Physical Agility Test applicants must bring a signed Doctor's Certification of Fitness (click the link to download and print)
    • This form can be signed by any licensed, practicing Physician
    • Minimum Physical Agility Standards (must pass all three elements to pass the test)
    • 1.5 mile run in maximum 14:36
    • 18 push-ups in one minute
    • 28 sit ups in one minute

  • Required Documents and Releases - click the links below to download and print each document 
** These documents only need to be completed if an applicant has passed both the Written Test and Physical Agility Test


  • In-house training by qualified instructors 
  • Law Enforcement Certification Training
  • 12 weeks Field Training 
  • Continuing Education Training as required